Why I still love Rage Against The Machine…

A couple days ago, a good friend of mine and I started talking about music we used to listen to when we were kids.  I usually hold back on these conversations because I don’t want people to think I’m some kind of anti-capitalist psycho.  But, with this friend, I knew I was on safe ground.  So, I brought up my secret love affair with RATM (Rage Against The Machine – for all you haters…)  I started listening to them again this morning and have found myself with the same adoration that I had when I was a kid, but only with a different twist.  There’s this song called, "Killin’ in the Name of" that I’ve always loved.  And, now rather than raising my fist and stickin’ it to "the man", I’ve turned it to raising my fist and stickin’ it to "my flesh".  Hokey as that may sound, there’s some great lines in there.  My favorite is an obscene one that repeats, "F-you, I won’t do what you tell me!!"  I really like that, especially since lately I’ve been undergoing some serious conflict with my mind, and my sinfulness, and need to remember to tell my flesh "F-you, I won’t do what you tell me!!!"  … Aww, Man!  I love that song…
 
But, back to my conversation with my friend….. So, I started telling him of this idea I’ve been having.  Here it is…
 
I think it’d be rad for some really creative genious to re-write the lyrics of RATM’s "Bombtrack" – renaming it "TrackBomb" and the message would be about ripping on the concept that lots of christians have that if I track-bomb someone long enough, they’ll make the logical conclusion to follow Jesus.  Getting the word into peoples hands is a powerful weapon that God uses.  But we will take it to the extreme.  While we do have the awesome responsibility to share the gospel with the lost, giving them some pithy little pamphlet with the 5 steps to heaven with pictures of the dork that they’ll turn into if they do "decide" to "accept Jesus", just ain’t gonna cut it.  
 
I know everyone (all 3 of you) want to re-live this awesome song for yourself, so here it is in all it’s glory.  Don’t worry… there’s only 1 f-word and you might not even hear it…
 
 
 
 
I’ll let you search for "Killin’ in the Name of" if you want.  I don’t think my mom would appreciate me posting that song on this website.
 
Rage on!
3 thoughts on “Why I still love Rage Against The Machine…

  1. Ever heard of Apologetix (apologetix.com) they have a lot of parodies… I did not check them all, but they might take requests!Altough, not for lyrical content, my favs are Metallica’s Black Album, and Megadeath’s Countdown to Extinction…

  2. I can’t decide if I like them or not, musically anyway. I like the vocals a lot, that kinda rapcore feel. But the guitar was playing the same rif over and over. So I’ll have to do some song searching and then decide.

  3. It’s an interesting thing. They are passionate about a lot of things we as Christians ought to be passionate about. Not everything though. I wonder what motivates them to even care about World Hunger and poverty?

Leave a Reply

