Our “Baby” is All Grown Up

Today is our youngest’s birthday.  Micah turns 3 today.  And I hope I don’t forget how his birth day came about. 
 
We had gone to a scheduled checkup with the Midwife (yes, we’re "those" kind of people – the kind that are totally fine giving birth in a dumpster or in the backseat of a dirty city cab, because we’re just that uneducated that we don’t find it necessary to give birth in the "safe and clean" hospital just because everyone else is doing it…), Dawn was in the room with the midwife, and I was walking with our then three boys outside to keep them entertained.  I had a full day of work, and was already behind schedule due to this appointment.  I came in to see how things were going, and the Midwife looked at me and said, "I think we’re going to have a baby today."  To which I graciously replied, "Today? – I’m working today.  How ’bout tomorrow."  To which the Midwife smiled and said, "Well, I think we’re going to have a baby today."  And I just stood there in shock, and tried to figure out what to do next.   Soon, my mom came to pick up our boys, the necessary people came to help with the birth, and by that evening we had our fourth son.
 
People always ask when we’re going to stop calling Micah our "Baby".  I don’t know how to answer that question, because to me – he IS our baby.  Everything from his cute little dimples on the backs of his pudgy hands, to his adorable little voice, to his slightly "large" physique give daily evidences of his Baby-ness.  And, honestly, I don’t want to have to stop calling him "Baby Micah".  Because that will mean that he’s growing up, and finds me and Dawn even more unnecessary than he does right now. 
 
And just the fact that our youngest is three today – that by itself is just plain scary.  I remember when each of our boys were three, and that seems to be the age where they grow out of their baby-ness and start becoming boy-ish.  I’m sure that made complete sense. 
 
Well, happy birthday to Micah – Daddy and Mommy love you more than we should, and we are SO thankful that God has blessed us with you!
 
We love you!
Leave a Reply

