Psalm 73

 
Upon hearing of my current "issues", my good friend encouraged me to read Psalm 73 awhile ago.  And it just might be one of my favorite psalms.  Feel free to read the whole thing regardless of what "issues" you may be dealing with at the time (because we ALL have issues ALL the time, whether we’re aware of them or not…)  
 
Some of my favorite passages:
 
  • Vs. 21-22, "When my soul was embittered, when I was pricked in heart, I was brutish and ignorant; I was like a beast towards you." ~ That pretty much sums up my soul condition.  I’ve been basically pouting because "little Danny-boy" hasn’t gotten what he wants.  How pathetic…
  • Vs. 25-26, "Whom have I in heaven but you?  And there is nothing on earth that I desire besides you.  My flesh and my heart may fail, but God is the strength of my heart and my portion forever."  ~  talk about a passion and connection that I desperately need!  How I love this verse, and would absolutely love for some day this verse to be more than words on a page, but to be MY verse (if that makes sense…)
  • Vs. 28, "But for me it is good to be near God;  I have made the Lord GOD my refuge; that I may tell of all your works." ~ Double WOW!!  How often do I not want to be "near God" – I’d rather be near anything else; the TV, sports, my kids, my wife… you name it.  At the Men’s Retreat he called that "self-medicating".  But here, the psalmist says that he has "made the LORD GOD my refuge" – that’s the direct opposite of self-medicating… 

So, to wrap up this sermonette, how DO I go about "making" the LORD GOD my refuge?

 

 

One thought on “Psalm 73

Leave a Reply

