Breaking The Odds…

 
Today is the day that commemorates the fact that Dawn and I are breaking the odds.  Statistically speaking, most marriages end in divorce at around 7 years.  Combine that with the fact that BOTH Dawn and I are from divorced parents and the rate at least doubles.  Add to that the fact that we’ve had four boys early in our marriage, financial turmoil, our own sinfulness,  and you’ve got one marriage that is RIPE for divorce.
 
The credit goes – not to Dawn for her patience and willingness to "stick it out", or to me for "putting up with her" or not having an affair – but, the credit goes ONLY to God and His grace to us.  He has opened our eyes to our need for His lordship in our marriage, our family, our lives. And He is the ONLY reason why we are celebrating our 12th year of marriage.
 
One of the big evidences of God’s grace in my life is the fact that He has given me Dawn.  She is the second greatest thing to have ever happened to me.  She is my cheer-leader, my girl friend, my very BEST friend, and I couldn’t be more in love with her.  She is the most beautiful woman in the world, and I’m not just saying that because I’m married to her – it is fact.
 
Happy 12th Anniversary, my love.  I can’t WAIT to keep breaking the odds with you.
Leave a Reply

