How To Talk Like A Weirdo…

I recently listened to another great sermon by Matt Chandler on… well, … I dunno what it was actually ON, but he had a sweet point in there where he was talking about the men God used to save him when he was younger.  One of the guys was a straight-shootin’ evangelist with a unique style.  The story goes like this:

And all of it came to a head when Jeff Faircloth who ended up having a football locker next to mine. I think some of my aggression was birthed that day when he just said, “Hey, I need to tell you about Jesus. When do you want to do that?” So it wasn’t, “Hey, read this tract and let me know what you think” or “Hey, do you want to come to church with me on Wednesdaynight.” It was literally, “I need to tell you about Jesus. I’m going to let you decide where we do that, but it’s happening. So we can do it right now before practice, we can do it after practice or we can do it some other time this week, but I’ve got to tell you about Jesus. So when do you want to do that?” I’ve honestly taken that and made it my own now, especially when people find out I’m a pastor. So in our neighborhood somebody goes, “What do you do?” I just go, “I’m a pastor. So you know we’ve got to talk about Jesus. When do you want to do this? You can come over for dinner. We can just do it right now. When do you want to do this?” Because if I’m a pastor and believe what I say I believe, then how depraved would I be if I didn’t share with you what I believed to be the greatest hope in the universe? So that really stems from Jeff Faircloth’s conversation with me.

Can you even IMAGINE some weirdo just coming up to you and saying, “So I’ve gotta tell you about Jesus.  When do you want to do it?”  Amazing!  Talk about a great line.  So, now I’m working on making that my own like Chandler did for himself.  How about you?  The hard part is then you’ve gotta actually be able to put into words who Jesus is & why someone should actually give a crap.  Big job.  I’ll share what I come up with just as soon as I get her done.

 

3 thoughts on “How To Talk Like A Weirdo…

  1. I just ran across your blog…. I think it was a search under missions through Word press. I think I heard the same talk. and this was an excellent reminder to make me ponder if I can be a bit too timid. Thanks and blessings!

Leave a Reply

